Week 4 – Artist – Maccabee Shelley

wpid-wp-1411354483655My artist this week was Maccabee Shelley. Just by reading his statement (see above) of what his art means it made more sense of what he was talking about when he said that his pieces don’t have names, he doesn’t want us to look at his work and have us feel what he feels he wants us to have our own feelings to his works. He wants people to bring their own story and have their own reaction to their work. They’re novelty pieces not something that technically fits in our world. I found it so inspiring how he did his works and how he created his pieces. It looked like glass blowing but he uses kins and adds pieces and moves things. Below are my favorite pieces. I love the sharpness of the first piece and how tough it looks as a creation itself. The second one looks so smooth and peaceful yet broken. I felt by looking at this kind of felt like the way I feel about my world and what I’m experiencing at this time in my life.

“If you care about something that’s what matters.” -Maccabee Shelley

image

image

This entry was published on September 22, 2014 at 3:01 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

